Washington Fly Fishing Forum banner

Are your nights getting warmer?

858 views 17 replies 14 participants last post by  Golden Trout 
#1 ·
(NFR) People in our community are experiencing much warmer nights than usual! In the past even days above 100 would cool off into the upper 50s or lower 60s. Normally those overcast nights would also hold in the heat with some evenings in the mid to upper 60s. This summer we have had crystal clear nights with temps into the upper 60s and even 70s. It is horrible if you turn your pillow over only to get a warmer feel!

Recently our school administrator cut down 12, 100+, year-old trees (because he could). All of these trees are less than a block away. This action raised a controversy among community members but they usually lack the resources necessary to raise enough awareness and strength to start any actions. Being a teacher, I am careful to stay out of the political loop.

OK, all that whining stated;
(1) is this night time heat being felt by others?
(2) could the absence of the trees be a factor?

#2 ·
GT, it's business as usual over here on the upper east side. Nights have been real cool, days real hot. We don't have air conditioning-just 2 box fans that cost about $20 apiece. At sunset we put them in a couple of windows blowing in and open every window in the house. By morning it is so cold that I have to wear a fleece jacket at breakfaast. Last night it got down in the low 50's and the house was at 61* this morning. Today we went to town for groceries and now at 2:15 after running in and out unloading our stuff it is up to 68* with an outside temp of 92*. In past years there have been times when it didn't cool off at night for several days and after about 3 days of that the house can no longer hold it's cool. Those events are rare though as once dark falls the cold air blows down the mountain from the west and makes for delightful evenings.