Annual bummed about Bonneville passage thread

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by Klickrolf, May 6, 2013.

1. Klickrolf

Klickrolf Active Member

2. hydrological

hydrological beads are NOT flies and snagging is just ghetto

i'm no expert on interpreting the counts, but isnt it a bit early to be worried ? like the naysayers here in montana that worried about the low snowpack in march ? we are now about 100%

3. JS

JS Active Member

Media:
    The forcast was not great, but it is still a little early to tell how bad it is going to be. It is going to be bad. That is almost certain.

4. Rob Allen

Rob Allen Active Member

if we do not do the work to have good fish runs how can we possibly expect to have good fish runs? near as I can tell we are still logging the heck our of our watersheds we are still over planting nearly every river in the state and we are still harvesting as many of them as we can before they are able to reproduce.

without question i would say that we here in the northwest do not deserve better fish runs..

hydrological and JS like this.
  5. Evan Burck

Evan Burck Fudge Dragon

Media:
    Home Page:
    I don't usually judge until mid June. A lot can change.

6. Evan Burck

Evan Burck Fudge Dragon

Media:
    Home Page:
    Look at 2010.. the early part of the run was ridiculous. people were saying we'd top over a million fish. Then it died off around August, and we had a substantially smaller run than 2009 (record year), which started off slower.

7. Upton O

Upton O Blind hog fisherman

Home Page:
    "It ain't over 'til it's over." Predicting fish movement is an educated guess at best, you never know what you're going to get until you get it.

8. constructeur

constructeur Active Member

Media:
    Fish or no fish we're going to get out, camp with the family, go to sleep to the stars and wake up to the sounds of the river. Beers with pals, all that jazz.

I'm not one to worry about the fish count I guess.

9. hydrological