NFR Any Ford diesel gurus here?

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by orangeradish, Dec 30, 2013.

1. Looking at a truck, but I've been told that there are a few years/motors to avoid. 2006 6l is what I'm looking at. Anyone have any input? A float down the river and all the beer you can drink coming your way if ya keep me from stepping on a landmine on this one...

Jason

2. Before I got out of it I was a Diesel mechanic by trade for over 10 years. What you need to understand is that there are lemon's everywhere, that is just the downside to mass production, and occasionally a bad apple slips through. Whether you go with Dodge, Chevy, Ford, Peterbilt, Kenworth, or anything it does not matter. Truck and vehicle manufacturers have been doing this stuff long enough to know what they are doing. Rest assured that the Fork truck that you have a chubby over will serve you very well for years to come as long as YOU serve IT well for years to come. I will not give you my personal preference because it is completely irrelevant. There is always going to be that "guy" who complains that this went out or that went out, but the majority of feedback that is given are from people who are pissed off about the product. I guarantee that for every bad experience there is significantly more positive ones. Of course there is always the infamous recall but you do not have to worry about that financially if that should ever arise. Good luck on your purchase. Shit that was long winded.

Porter likes this.

3. I didn't think any Ford owners would reply. I figured they were all stuck on the side of the road.

mini-0728.jpg

Seriously, I'm just yanking chains. I think there is a Ton of truth to what Danielocean says. As for my trash talking, keep in mind I drive an outback.

Derek Young likes this.