Anyone taken a drift boat down the Naches?

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by jmara6864, Jun 2, 2014.

1. jmara6864

jmara6864 Active Member

The Yak looks like it's going to blow out just in time for my planned float trip. Looking for other options. I have wadded the Naches quite a few times but never floated it. It seems like it could be dangerous in a drift boat. I have a lot of experience taking oar frame rafts and pontoons down class 4 and 5 rapids but it's always been on rivers I have experience with. Have anyone done this before? The river looks like it will be around 2200cfs Thursday which is the I plan to fish.

2. Matt Baerwalde

Matt Baerwalde ...

Media:
    Go ahead and float it Thursday. Just don't fish, because it won't be open yet.

3. Bones24

Bones24 Member

I do not have the regulations in front of me but I believe the Naches does not open up until Saturday June 7th. So if you mean that you will be fishing this Thursday June 5th then you better stick with the Yakima float.

4. jmara6864

jmara6864 Active Member

Oh crap thanks for the heads up!

5. David Dalan

David Dalan 69°19'15.35" N 18°44'22.74" E

Media:
    Many moons ago when i rafted regularly, the Naches was on the list of "fun" waters during spring flows. I seem to recall sweepers, and other fun things being relatively abundant. That was a LONG time ago, but I think without current intel a hard boat might make for a bad day. Its been too long for me to recall the flows we wanted.

6. McNasty

McNasty Canyon Lurker

Media:
    dude, youll be fine. go for it!! :p. just kidding, unless you consider yourself pretty good behind the sticks. and by pretty good, i mean a total badass. i plan on tooning some sections this year.

7. As my highschool buddy once said before i blew out my ACL snowboarding "dont be a pussy just do it"

Alex MacDonald likes this.
  8. Patrick Gould

Patrick Gould Active Member

Media: