Bad Form?

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by P Fly, Jul 18, 2002.

1. P Fly

P Fly New Member

Is it bad form to ask about Montana on a Washington Fly Fishing web cite? I am taking my family to the Gallatin National Forest at the end of July. We will be staying at a campsite at Red Cliff, which is very close to the West entrance of Yellowstone. Our campsite is right on the Gallatin river. Do any of you know this area? Can any of you offer advice about the Gallatin river with regard to hatches and prime locations?

2. guest

guest Guest

It's only bad form when you don't invite me. :WINK

As for info on Montana, I have none, but will be watching this thread closely - I've been dreaming of Montana for the past several months. You will probably trip over all the info Chris and Co. have...

stumpfisher

P.S. I called 1-800-VISIT MT (800-847-4868) and the Montana Tourism Bureau sent me several Travel Planners, etc., and got it to me very quickly. Maybe this would be a good start while waiting for the deluge to start from this site. Have fun and post a report. :THUMBSUP

3. troutman101

troutman101 Member

No talking about the best trout fishing on earth on a Washington website!!!! Us locals get all teary eyed when people start talking about how the Montana trout make our fish look like minnows. The Gallatin River is a good fishery but for me it was very hard to fish. Be weary of the fact that it is only 30 minutes from a ery populated town and it is on the way to the most popular family destination in the nation. In other words, it can get crowded. If you need a report, click this URL:
    http://www.troutfitters.com/reports.cfm?action=show&id=12

If you have time, head out to Jellystone and fish some of the rivers inside the park. You will be very surprised how easy the fishing is and how big the fish are. If you stop in West Yellowstone, stop by Craig Matthews shop (Blue Ribbon Anglers) Craig and his wife are the nicest shop owners in the Nation. I promise.