beginner

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by baseballandfishing, Jul 16, 2002.

1. baseballandfishing New Member

covington, wa, usa.
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    since it seems the rivers are in pretty good shape , where should i try to catch some trout. i am a beginner, i can cast pretty well i think but im having trouble catching a fish. could someone tell me about a spot where i could maybe get my first fish. i live in covington. thanks
  2. ray helaers New Member

The fishing can be pretty easy on the Middle Fork of the Snoqualmie, for native cutthroat and a few rainbows, mostly kind of smallish, but very willing. There are a lot of guys on this board who seem to know the forks alot better than I do -- hopefully they'll weigh in here -- but the Middle Fork was the first place I fished in WA way back when. I wasn't much more than a beginner then myself (at flyfishing anyway), and I think I got 30-some that morning on dry caddis patterns (a few that I called 10-inchers, too).

C'mon you guys; throw this guy a bone.
  3. Rob Blomquist Formerly Tight Loops

Mountlake Terrace, WA, USA.
    Ratings: +1 / 0
    What I would do, if I were a beginner, or a guy who just wanted to C&R a bunch of trout, is hike into almost any lake around 3500-4000 feet. They are probably likely to be snow free with fish eager to bite almost anything edible.

Last weekend, I visited Leech Lake in White Pass, and the first hour of fishing was stupendous, it was brookies on a cast after cast basis, then nothing for the rest of the day, as the morning feed quit. I would suggest fishing either the fairly early morning, or the evening, right around dusk. The weekend before I fished Lake Dorothy, and in 45 minutes C&R'd about 6 fish, all cutts and brookies, while standing in one place at the outlet.