Browns?

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Skyler Evans, Jul 11, 2013.

1. Skyler Evans Active Member

Fort Lewis
    Ratings: +32 / 0
    I have caught a few browns in the lakes around here but i am really wanting to find some browns in the rivers. Does anyone know about any places where i can get into some brown fishing? Im not asking for any secret spots but i am still pretty new to fly fishing rivers around western washington. Any help would be greatly appriciated.
  2. Joe Goodfellow Active Member

DES moines wa
    Ratings: +94 / 0
    There on the easy side
    Kyle Smith likes this.
  3. Joe Goodfellow Active Member

DES moines wa
    Ratings: +94 / 0
    That's supposed to be east
  4. Kent Lufkin Remember when you could remember everything?

Not sure
    Ratings: +1,022 / 0
    +1 on Joe's post. Browns in Washington are found almost exclusively in lakes and creeks east of the Cascades. To my knowledge, none have ever been planted in west side streams (or if they have, it's been a LONG time ago and they didn't establish.)

K
  5. Jason Rolfe Wanderer

the beach
    Ratings: +371 / 0
    If you look through the regs for the east side, you'll see mention of browns in various rivers and creeks. That can give you a clue as to where to look for them.

Jason
  6. Skyler Evans Active Member

Fort Lewis
    Thanks for the info guys. I was really hoping that we had some in the rivers on this side of the state but ill just have to make it out that way on a 4 day sometime next month.
  7. Brad Niemeyer Old School Member

Woodinville, WA
    Ratings: +42 / 0
    I caught a few in the Touchet river (Near Dayton) many years back. Nothing especially large. I doubt they still stock it, but browns have a way of holding on years after stocking ends...
  8. Thomas Williams Habitual Line Stepper

Ansbach, Germany
    Ratings: +344 / 16
    I'm down to split gas and expenses on the 4 day if you want Sky. I'm definitely down to do some exploring.