Camp kitchen knife

Discussion in 'Camping, Hiking, Cooking' started by Stewart, Mar 5, 2013.

1. Stewart

Stewart Skunk Happens

I've been lusting after a Chicago Cutlery folding kitchen knife. Problem is, they don't make 'em anymore and they are going for $60 or better on ebay. Does anybody know of another folding kitchen knife that would be less, or have you found a good substitute? I'm most interested in something that folds because it will prevent cutting myself in the dark and needs less room for storage. I tried just using a big pocket knife, but blade length is a bit short.

2. IveofIone

IveofIone Active Member

Stewart, I have been using a Santoku knife for camping for several years now. Of course it doesn't fold and it is big and sharp so I built a sheath for it to protect both me and the blade. Unless you are backpacking this thing is sweet! It is sharp enough for the usual peeling and slicing duties around camp and heavy enough to be used as a light cleaver. And long enough that it can do much more than a lesser blade. In addition it is wide enough that you can scoop up stuff that you have already sliced and diced. The only thing it doesn't seem to do is slice bread but I have a nice Victornox bread knife for that.

Take a look at the Santoku and see if it would work for your camping. If not it is still a great addition to your kitchen.

Ive

3. Trapper Badovinac

Trapper Badovinac Author, Writer, Photographer

Home Page:
    I'm with Ive. Get a decent knife for cooking, regardless of where you cook. I use Shun and Henckels. I have sheaths for them.

I don't let anyone use my knives. Not even my wife. I tell her "Honey, I don't wear your underwear, you don't use my chef knives."

Trapper

Steve Vaughn and Gary Knowels like this.
  4. Stewart

Stewart Skunk Happens