Disappointing and not

Discussion in 'Warm Water Species' started by GAT, Jun 1, 2013.

1. GAT Active Member

Willamette Valley, OR
    Ratings: +2,598 / 0
    Today was free fishing day in Oregon so the trout lakes would be packed. I decided to try for bass at a farm pond I've never tried before. This meant I installed my fish/depth finder so I could map the lake and find the fish. BTW: those who have mentioned that the Cabela's holder for the Fishin Buddy is a piece of crap jinxed me. I didn't have a problem with the thing until you mentioned it. The holder is a piece of crap and I'll need to modify it before hitting the lake again.

The lake:

P1010191_edited-1.jpg

The lake was much larger than I thought. It went around a bend. I put in at the worst possible spot and it was far too shallow and choked with weeds.

Once I found the deeper section of the lake, my fish finder was marking a lot of fish. I don't know if they were crappie, gills or bass... but there were a lot of them.

I tried my bait fish patterns and was bummed. I'd get pecks (most likely from gills) but not hits from a bass. Finally, I gave up on the subsurface and started using poppers as I normally do. After a lot of casts this dude hit the popper. It wasn't a large, splashy take so I figured it was a small LMB... it grew as I reeled it in.

To my dismay, I had forgotten to attach the stripping apron to the SuperCat so I had nowhere to place the fish for a photo. Soooo.... while I was fighting the bass with one hand, I installed the stripping apron with the other. Fortunately, the bass had eaten the bug and short of breaking the leader, it was not getting off.

Here's the bass and the well-used, simple black popper that did the trick. One thing about hard body poppers... they normally last for years and that's how long I've used this one.

bass and fly.jpg