Does hook type really matter?

Discussion in 'Fly Tying' started by Jason Shutt, Jan 30, 2010.

1. Jason Shutt Dues past due

Close to water, but not close enough
    Ratings: +1 / 0
    I sure hope this horse hasn't been beaten. If so, someone send please send me the thread(s).

But seriously, the range of hooks out there is a bit overwhelming for a newbie. I've been using the same Gamakatsu saltwater hooks for everything. Now I'm researching the Chum Baby and someone catches fish on a different type than Triggs himself and Bob states his experience to be totally different.

So, what the hell kind of difference does it make?
  2. Big E Moderator

Coon Bay
    Ratings: +358 / 0
    Lots of differences. Hook size is probably the most important thing to worry about especially when tying flies for coho and SRC. While I'm nowhere near being an expert, I would tie SRC flies on a smaller size than I would coho. Not saying that I will do this 100% of the time but generally speaking for smaller fish you want a smaller hook. I would then look at the shank and gap size and see if it is appropriate for the pattern I am tying. You'll also most likely get away with a smaller diameter wire for SRC as well. Then from there you could look at things like sharpness, durability and cost. Being that the eye is usually straight on SW hooks, I usually don't give that a second thought but it may make a slight difference if you have an upturn vs downturn eye.

I haven't used gamakatsu too much in the salt except for stinger hooks. My tying box is filled with mustad and daiichi. The daiichi IMO is superior to the mustad but those dang mustads are OK and so cheap they are hard to pass up.

FWIW For a chum baby I would think that you would want something in an 8, thin wire with a short shank.
  3. dryflylarry "Chasing Riseforms"

Near the Fjord
    Ratings: +533 / 0