Dry fly capes

Discussion in 'Fly Tying' started by james.jimenez, Aug 5, 2013.

1. james.jimenez

james.jimenez Active Member

Looking for information on dry fly capes. I am going to start trying my hand at tying dries, but unsure which brand to lean towards or which quality of feather. How much to the capes differ when it comes to the grade of the cape? Should I purchase premium capes because they say premium, or could I get the same results from a cape that is in the moderate quality range? I will be doing the purchase online so I won't be able to actually look at the feathers until they arrive by mail, I am a novice fly tyer at best so I probably wouldn't know what to look for even if I was to look at the capes before I did the purchase. I like tying small flies when it come to nymphs and have recently tied size 18,16, and 24 CDC caddis's. any information will be greatly appritiated, I look forward to hearing from you all...

2. Gary Knowels

Gary Knowels Active Member

Media:
    Bitterroot just ordered a bunch of whiting hackle over the phone from Jim's fly co in West Yellowstone. Member Ron eagle elk works there. I'd feel comfortable giving him a call and asking him questions about what you want to know and having him select your hackles. At least that way you know somebody got to take a look at your feathers.

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G

3. bitterroot

bitterroot Love vintage graphite!

Media:
    My order arrived and they are super nice!

Gary Knowels likes this.
  4. Thom Collins

Thom Collins Active Member