Fly Fishing Rockfish/Lings

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by FarmerAndy, Mar 23, 2014.

1. FarmerAndy

FarmerAndy New Member

Hey guys, so I'm new here but have been stalking the site for a while. So currently I've been fly fishing here in southeastern Idaho on the Henry's Fork, South Fork of the Snake, and a few other small rivers around here. I picked it up about a year ago, I figured since I'm in school I might as well take advantage of being by so many awsome rivers. It's been a blast, and it's really an addiction now.

Now, I'm planning a trip with my wife, dad, and a few other people to go up to the San Juan Islands this September. I've been there several times with my dad, and have gone fishing for rockfish and lingcod, but just with normal spinning rods. Well, since my addiction to fly fishing,. I've been looking into fly fishing rockfish and lings. I've found a few flies to use and a few different suggestions for setups, but nothing really complete. I'm completely new to fly fishing salt water. The biggest flies I've tied and used are scuplins on a size 2 for trout at Henry's Lake in Island Park..

So I guess what I'm asking here is some advice on what gear to use for lings and rockfish (and possibly areas to check out around the San Juan Islands). We will be on a boat as well. I have a 5 wt and an 8 wt.. I know the 8 wt should be able to handle it, but is the 5 wt too light? I also have a reel with plenty of backing and sinking tip, will that get the fly down far enough to the rocks? Maybe adding some weight to the leader? And what kind of line do you guys use for your leaders?

So, in summary, pole, line, leader, flies? (Pictures or links to flies would be great, I'm not familiar with saltwater flies!). I'm just trying to get everything ahead of time, little by little. That way I don't get in trouble by my wife for a big expense all at once! Thanks a ton in advance guys!