Guanaja, Honduras

Discussion in 'Trip Reports with Pics' started by MDK, Mar 1, 2013.

1. IMG_1262_1.JPG IMG_1273_1.JPG IMG_1278_1.JPG Just got back from a DIY trip to Guanaja, Honduras. I have been making a trip every winter for a little over ten years looking for warm places to fish without hiring a guide or staying at expensive lodges (DIY). Mostly, I've been fishing for bonefish. To date, I've tried Florida, Hawaii, Mexico, Belize, Nicaragua, and Honduras.

There are bonfish in both Florida and Hawaii but both locals are better suited for fishing for other species. You definitly need a boat in Florida and need to know the area. Bonefish are mostly in deeper water in Hawaii except near Honolulu airport.

Nicaragua has bonefish in the Corn Islands. Little Corn used to be one of my favorite spots but has recently been "discovered" and is over fished both by locals(for baitfish)and sportsman. It also has serious wind problems between Dec-Mar as the bonefish reside on the windy side of island. Still, it's an interesting place and may be worth a trip for the more adventurous.

Mexico(near Belize border) and Belize have lots of bonefish and are the most reliable bonefish DIY destinations I have fished. Glovers reef in Belize is my favorite place for bonefishing. The fish are not big but there are plenty and not too shy. I have had 20 fish days.

Guanaja is one of the Bay Islands in Honduras. It's a beautiful place but has definitely been discovered, in part thanks to ex-Pres Jimmy Carter and promotion by a group in Montana. During the week I spent at Grahams Place, there were ten anglers from Montana staying there. There is also a lodge on the next caye that had between 8-10 anglers there every week. The area you fish is not that large and 15-20 anglers is crowded.