How far should I be casting?

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by PatrickH, Jan 23, 2014.

1. PatrickH

PatrickH Active Member

Media:
    I have a Okuma Cascade Fly Fishing Combo 5/6 SA Air Cel Trout Weight and was wondering how far should I be able to cast during normal fishing? I'm still learning how to cast and was needing to know if I am casting as far as I should be able to or if I'm falling short.
    When I'm out casting, I feel like I need more rod to get more distance or at least a heavier action rod..

2. Pat Lat

Pat Lat Mad Flyentist

Media:
    How do you get to Carnegie hall?...Practice.
    It really depends on what you're fishing for and where, but you can catch fish at any distance, both long and well, not so long. just ask the tenkara guys, they always say they catch a lot of fish and I'm sure you are casting further than any of them.
    Overlining rods to early in your practice to feel the rod better will likely instill bad habits as you dont yet have the muscle memory and feel that you get from repetitive casting with a light rig. At least thats my opinion. So just keep flailing for a while then go take a class somewhere and practice your knot un-tying skills.
    Good luck.

3. Danielocean

Danielocean Steelhead Virgin

Media:
    I think the most important question is how long do YOU think you should be casting.

KevinLS and Michael v.d.Bogert like this.
  4. Michael v.d.Bogert

Michael v.d.Bogert Active Member

Distance is not 'highly' important. After many hours practice you will discover that distance is not the clue to catch fish. Proper presentation skills are the key factors to catch more fish. Also the right taper sizes you need for the fish you looking for are very important.

Mike

Krusty and KevinLS like this.
  5. formerguide

formerguide Active Member

Patrick,