Kalaloch Creek

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Caveman, Jul 18, 2008.

1. Headed over to Kalaloch next month for a week. I was wondering if there was any info on the Kalaloch creek and what to bring and use.

Thanks

Adam

2. Fish the salt, better chance of hooking some fish if you are staying at Kalaloch. Pink flies are the ticket. If you can get away, think about heading to the Sol Duc for summer steelhead.

3. Was just there the week of the 14th.
    Caught a few 6-10" cutthroat off of the state park's nature trail. Practice up on your bow and arrow cast as this is small water with brushy banks. Mosquitoes seemed to be the ticket.

Anyone know why the surf smelt would be completely absent for seven consecutive days?
    I have been dipping smelt on trail 4 for 20 years and have never been skunked until this trip.

4. Thanks for the info. I think I might try t he Queets also. I need to check the regs out first.

Thanks

Adam

5. I'll be there the 21-23rd too and was thinking the same thing about the Queets.
    If your there at the same time lets do some exploring.

6. The Queets and the Smelt