Line for Redington CT 8' 3wt

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Onthedryonly, Jun 30, 2013.

1. Onthedryonly New Member

Ratings: +3 / 0
    Hi
    Just been offered a Redington CT 8' 3wt 6 pieces which I ve matched with an "old" SA Ultra 4 DT3, and I dont seem to get the feel of it.
    I am wondering if it s the 3wt thing (used to 4 weights, got a Loomis Streamdance HLS 9' 4wt), or if it s the line.
    Sure the rod is mid flex, with not too slow a recovery though.
    But even when I pay real close attention to the timing, I dont get nice loops and get very little feel in the rod.
    And with the slightest breeze things really get out of control.
    Should I try a 4wt line?
    All advice will be greatly appreciated.
  2. Steve Unwin Active Member

Edmonds, WA
    Ratings: +94 / 0
    Might be the 3wt thing. I am learning how to cast my new 3wt and while I think a line change might help, it's just so light that you can't feel what is going on. I'm a fairly novice caster but the 3wt has such a light feel. I don't know how it would compare to a 4wt.
  3. docstash Member

selah, wa.
    Ratings: +22 / 0
    I use a 380-4 CT all the time on the Naches with a Rio Grand WF3F. The majority of my casts are spey casts with only a few overhead off a spey cast change of direction.
    Craig@redsflyshop.com
  4. Ed Call Mumbling Moderator

Kitsap Peninsula
    Ratings: +1,521 / 9
    I have that 6pc 3wt. I like both a wf3 and dt3 on it. I don't see the need to over long a moderate action rod like this one.
  5. Onthedryonly New Member

Hi
    Yes, after some more practice on the grass this evening I agree that switching to a 4wt line probably wouldnt be a good idea. Half a line weight, maybe, with a different line design... Or more likely a different line, still in a 3wt.