Looking for a 10' 5wt fly rod... suggestions?

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by kurtataltos, Sep 13, 2013.

1. kurtataltos Active Member

Los Altos, CA
    Ratings: +38 / 0
    Float tube fishing. Some comments on the board note the Redington Voyant fishes like a broomstick. May just be sarcasm, reality, an elitist or the absolute truth. Don't know. I have been looking for a used Sage 5100 but have had no luck. Regardless, if you have any recommendations on a possible used rod please offer insights. Not looking to break the bank. I have been fishing RPL's for 30 years so a really stiff technowhiz special probably isn't in the cards. Old dog that is slow on new tricks.

Thanks !!
  2. Danielocean Steelhead Virgin

Monroe
    Ratings: +400 / 0
    Have you looked into those Sage euro nymphing rods? Those look awesome.
  3. tinman207 Active Member

Ratings: +80 / 0
    I am by no means elitist when it comes to gear, I will fish what feels right to me. I have been trying out every 10'+ 5wt I have the opportunity for this year, and I really did not like the Reddington Voyant at all. I think broomstick is a fair description, particularly for something over 10'. I am looking for a 5wt that bridges the high stick and European nymphing I do, yet can lay down a dry fly when I really have to. The Sage One has come the closest from what I have used, but still isn't perfect as it is shorter still. I had to over-line the Voyant to get it to turn over a nymph rig like I wanted, and even at that, it felt beastly. I like things a lot more touchy, particularly in the 5wt range, and this felt similar to my old clunky TFO 6wt setup. It did start to cast well with a wf 6wt floating line after I got about 30-40ft out. I fished it on the Yak, and it came to life launching hoppers within inches of the bank in August, but that was over-lined and casting farther.