looking for stillwater caddis help

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Entomology' started by tkww, Mar 10, 2011.

1. tkww Member

Ratings: +66 / 2
    Any good sources of info? Any general characteristics for the NW, be it family/genus or size/color?

Thanks....
  2. TD Active Member

Ratings: +112 / 0
    I'm far from a bug expert but I've encounter large Black Caddis in high lakes. I keep a few Dark bodied EHC tied with a dyed grey wing which seems to work pretty well when the timing is right.
  3. scottflycst Active Member

Ratings: +24 / 0
    Talk with Roger (Taxon), all the info your brain can handle.
  4. Camo Clad Warrior Member

Ratings: +10 / 0
    Dark bodied EHC is a really good pattern. I also look for movement. Denny Rickard's philosophy....Movement!
  5. Taxon Moderator

Ratings: +111 / 0
    tkww-

Here a link to the PNW Caddisflies page on my website, where you will find descriptions of the following families and genera, which are those most likely to be represented in WA stillwaters:

Helicopsychidae (Snail Case Maker Caddisfly)
    Helicopsyche (Speckled Peter)
    Hydropsychidae (Trumpet Net & Tube Maker Caddisfly)
    Hydropsyche (Spotted Sedge)
    Hydroptilidae (Purse Case Maker Caddisfly)
    Agraylea (Salt and Pepper Microcaddis)
    Hydroptila (Vari-Colored Microcaddis)
    Ochrotrichia (Somber Microcaddis)
    Oxyethira (Cream & Brown Mottled Microcaddis)
    Lepidostomatidae (Lepidostomatid Case Maker Caddisfly)
    Lepidostoma (Little Plain Brown Sedge)
    Leptoceridae (Longhorned Case Maker Caddisfly)
    Nectopsyche (White Miller)
    Mystacides (Black Dancer)
    Oecetis (Long-Horn Sedge)
    Triaenodes (no common name)
    Limnephilidae (Northern Case Maker Caddisfly)
    Clistoronia (Early Summer Lake Sedge)
    Lenarchus (Dark Brown Still-Water Sedge)
    Limnephilus (Summer Flier Sedge)
    Onocosmoecus (Great Late-Summer Sedge)
    Platycentropus (Chocolate and Cream Sedge)
    Phryganeidae (Giant Case Maker Caddisfly)