Loomis or Winston

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by FlyFshn'Fool, Jan 31, 2012.

1. I know there has been some disappointment with Loomis rods as of late due to various things. However, I think next to Sage, Loomis does the best job of providing a rod for just about every conceivable situation. I think Winston will always have the best looking rods (I just wish they would vary their colors a bit to distinguish between various rod series) and I feel as though they are starting to come forward in the Saltwater and Two Handed game.

Given both Loomis and Winston as a whole, which direction would you folks lean for future rod purchases?

2. My vote goes Winston.

3. Winston, any day! Craftmanship is the best.

4. I have no experience with Loomis but I have a Winston that I love and when it needed a repair they were timely in getting it back to me.

5. I could argue a variety of points, but I won’t. We carry Sage, Loomis, Winston, etc…
    I can fish with just about anything. My decisions are based almost solely on casting and fishing performance. This is not to discount very important factors such as warranty, aesthetics, and price. They just don’t factor heavily into my rod purchasing decisions.
    I have more Loomis rods in my personal “arsenal” than anything else. Of the last 10 rods purchased by any of the staff here at the shop I believe 6 were Loomis, and 4 were Sage.
    Anil