Montana trip Help 6/7-6/15

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Nate Dutton, May 29, 2014.

1. Nate Dutton I'm a teacher, I fish to eat!

Kiana, AK
    Ratings: +2 / 0
    Hey guys, it's been a long time but I am down from the great white north to chase some trout. I am driving to Michigan to see my girlfriend's family and have planned to spend extra time in MT to fish. I will be driving I-90 with a detour through the park. What I am looking for is, what waters to hit in my time range of early to mid June, have to be wade able. My girlfriend will be with me as well and it will be her first fly trip. I would almost like names of fly shops throughout Montana that have treated you well, so I can drop some hard earned Alaska coinage on them. Finally any camp grounds that have showers and bathrooms wouldn't be appreciated by my girlfriend. Thanks in advance guys, sorry for the short notice, it was a spur of the moment thing. Feel free to PM if you like.
  2. Old Man Just an Old Man

Dillon, Mt
    Ratings: +1,734 / 0
    Be prepared for some high skinny water. That's all I'm gonna say.
  3. Kyle Smith Active Member

Bozeman, MT
    Ratings: +301 / 0
    Beating runoff is going to be a bitch this year. Lots of the great spots for June will be more blown out than usual. If you're lucky, Rock Creek will be high but fishable with golden stones hatching. Or book a day at Depuy's.
  4. Old Man Just an Old Man

Dillon, Mt
    Deleted. Double post.
  5. Old Man Just an Old Man

Dillon, Mt
    I was up on the Big Hole the other day. The river is in the trees. A flood watch in Melrose. And the tea colored water is a dark brown. I stopped by Birch Creek also. It's running about a foot higher than usual. The Beaverhead in Dillon is Muddy. Probably coming out of Grasshopper Creek or Rattlesnake creek.
  6. freestoneangler Not to be confused with Freestone

Edgewood, WA
    Ratings: +800 / 1