Montana Trip

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by The Surgeon, Jun 2, 2013.

1. I'm planning on taking a guys only (a buddy and I) trip to montana leaving here September 15 and returning a week later. I'd like to do the driving in two days, one day there and one day back so that would give us 6 days of fishing.

I've been looking at the Madison river, the big hole, the beaverhead and rock creek. I'm thinking the Madison is as far as I'd like to drive coming from Salem Oregon. I have a drift boat and am thinking of taking it, would it be worth it? Also is it better to try and make it to all those places or maybe only pick two places and spend a few days there? We will be tent camping. I'm kind of leaning towards doing a few days on the Madison and a few days at rock creek. Does anyone have any advice for floats on the Madison? Are they difficult floats? This is my first year on the sticks. Any advice would be welcome. Thanks!

Casey

2. I would for sure take a boat. Its Montana eobyou can just hitchhike back to the car instead of shuttling. I'll be in Montana also for that week. I don't know that river.... I plan on doing Clark fork, Missouri and rock creek for a week and a week on my home river, the Flathead

3. You can't fish out of a boat or raft on Rock Creek after July 1. In most years you'd destroy a drift boat on The Creek in September. Also, the Rock Creek road closely resembles the lunar surface with trees on each side, so if your vehicle doesn't have decent ground clearance it won't be a pleasant journey.

The Madison, Big Hole, and Beaverhead are in the same general vicinity, so you should be ok in managing your fishing time vs windshield time. Many anglers coming here for the first time try to hit every big name river and they spend more time driving than fishing.