Need advice please...

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by Alosa, Jan 31, 2013.

1. Alosa Active Member

Seattle
    Ratings: +142 / 1
    I am brand new to two handed rods and I just purchased an Echo Solo 13ft 8wt spey rod to get me into the game. I need to pair it up with a properly balanced reel and line. I'm a big fan of the Echo brand, so I am thinking of sticking with the Echo Ion reel. I use the Ion 6/7 for my single handed rods, but I think that the reel cpacity might be a bit on the small side to handle thicker diameter shooting heads, etc., plus that reel might not balance the rod out all that well. My guess is that the Ion 8/10 would be better (although only slightly larger diamter than the 6/7), but that the 10/12 might be overkill. I'd love to hear your thoughts on reel choice.

Next we come to lining the rod for swinging flies. I'm thinking winter steelhead on some larger rivers. I've done some research and my guess is that a Skagit compact shooting head (540-600 grains) would be most appropriate. I'd like ot hear from you about alternatives (what's a 'scandi' anyways?), and what sort of sinking tips I should be considering (length, density, etc.).

Thanks in advance for your input.
  2. Klickrolf Active Member

Klickitat, Washington
    Ratings: +140 / 0
    Just sent you a PM Alosa, get back to me if you'd like to.
  3. fredaevans Active Member

White City, Oregon, USA.
    Ratings: +118 / 0
    One of the major reason you need a larger reel with a 2hander set up is the lines, even if just head systems, are longer than a single hander line. This sucks up reel volume pretty quick. My general 'rule of the thumb' is if the reel is rated for a 6/7 (just to pick numbers) up size at least one reel size (8/9 in this example).
  4. hydrological beads are NOT flies and snagging is just ghetto

inland
    Ratings: +99 / 0
    on an 8wt spey, a 10/12 reel is spot on.
    Ian Broadie likes this.
  5. Evan Virnoche Guest

Ratings: +0 / 0