Need advise on Coldwater lake please

Discussion in 'Stillwater' started by nwtroutguy, Jul 2, 2013.

1. nwtroutguy

nwtroutguy The Tug Is The Drug

I am headed up there near the end of the month with my wife. Have never fished it before. I do have all lines and flies to cover most situations. We will be on pontoons with oars.

I would appreciate any advise anyone could offer up.

Thank you

2. Flyborg

Flyborg Active Member

Media:
    It can be windy as hell. Definitely do-able in a pontoon but don't plan on rowing the entire lake. If you've got a battery/troll motor as backup for the wife, I bet she'll love you forever should that wind pop up.

I'm no expert on Coldwater, but some of my best dry fly days ever were had up there. I realize most people just pull buggers, but I'd give the dries a shot for the scrappers. If that's not happening, a white or black crystal bugger on a sink 3 or sink 5 will usually get 'er done.

Jim Wallace and cabezon like this.
  3. fly punk

fly punk lunatic trout bum

Was up there a couple weeks ago. Wind was down and was very pleasant. But like was mentioned, can get wicked windy. i stick to launch side of the lake and the right side shoreline. Leeches, Careys and Dragons worked great. Plenty of bugs on the surface and this is one of the best dry fly lakes i've ever fished. I have a buddy that only fishes Red Humpys and kills em. Fish were averaging 14 to 16. Couple up to 18.
    good luck, let us know how you do.

Jim Wallace likes this.
  4. Strike Zone

Strike Zone Member

nw trout guy