New to snohomish again... and clueless on small streams

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Tom Knoberson, Aug 28, 2012.

1. Tom Knoberson

Tom Knoberson New Member

Hey everyone, I just joined and im a very inexperienced fly fisher. Where I use to live I would only get out on the lakes for some bass here and there, but now since im back in snohomish its time to get back to the the fly rod. So today I got out and fished a couple sky tribs and had some good luck! Nothing better then going out for the first time in years and getting some fish on.

Anyways, im very new to fishing in small streams and i'm really liking it, but i really have no idea what im doing, which fly to use or how to fish the small streams. Any tips would be greatly appreciated! Also I dont know what i have caught, here is a picture of what i was catching, any ideas? I was thinking a small rainbow, but they were all fairly small, 9 inch at the most. but still a ton of fun! 20120828_183219.jpg

2. Thomas Sath

Thomas Sath Member

Looks like you're doing all the right things so far! Where was this at if I may ask?

3. Thomas Sath

Thomas Sath Member

That looks like a cutthroat to me.

4. Preston

Preston Active Member

Your fish would appear to be a rainbow or perhaps a pre-smolt steelhead. There is no identifiable difference between resident rainbows and steelhead and, in fact, resident rainbows form an important segment of the rainbow/steelhead complex. Mature resident rainbows can and do spawn with steelhead and the offspring may remain as residents or adopt the anadromous habit of the steelhead.