New to the area, NEED HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by IdahoTrout, Jun 22, 2013.

1. IdahoTrout New Member

Seattle
    Ratings: +2 / 0
    Hi everybody I am new to seattle and new to fly fishing. I have been spinner fishing my whole life in Idaho but have wanted to fly fish since I can remember. I finally have bought a nice setup and now being in Seattle I wanted some good semi close suggestions that a beginner with a 5 weight rod can practice and have some fun??

Also If anyone has any good suggestions about anything or if anyone would be willing to take a beginner out on the water I would pitch in for cost and would be very appreciative

Thank you.
  2. Danielocean Steelhead Virgin

Monroe
    Ratings: +578 / 0
    First let me say welcome. I am a little new myself, and am probably going to be targeting the middle and south fork of the snoqualmie soon. If you have the weekends available let me know. Again welcome.
    NWstonefly likes this.
  3. Randru Member

Yakima WA
    Ratings: +5 / 0
    Hey Guys,

I'm on the dry side of the mountains but won't mind meeting somewhere in the middle sometime to wet a line.

R.
  4. IdahoTrout New Member

Seattle
    Thanks for the warm welcome guys. Danielocean how far away is the middle and south fork of the snoqualmie?
  5. Dipnet aka Tim Hartman

Silverdale, WA
    Ratings: +370 / 0
    While there's lots of freshwater options in our area, IdahoTrout, don't forget the salt! 6 million pinks coming our way later this summer (not to mention coho and SRC!)

Welcome to the area, the forum and the fishing!

Tight lines,

Tim
  6. IdahoTrout New Member

Seattle
    Yes I read that last night, thank you. Would a 5 weight be adequate or would I need to get another set up?
  7. Skyler Evans Active Member

Fort Lewis
    Ratings: +33 / 0
    IdahoTrout,