New To Vancouver, wanna do some fly fishing...

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by TheNoob, Jul 30, 2013.

1. TheNoob

TheNoob New Member

Hey guys, im new to vancouver and to this forum... found it online while googling places to fly fish earlier today. Know i had to make a account:)..
    Anyways, i come from northern montana, and there i have fishing mostly spinning.. well right before i moved away, i started getting into fly fishing. So Bought myself some ok gear to start and see if i like it. I LOVE it!
    Enough talking about myself, but i will be buying some new gear and getting licensed in washington this week, i was wondering where do i go? I've only been here a couple months, so have not really searched around yet.
    is there some books, magazines, threads about places in this area? I like more of the streams and rivers kinda fishing.
    (I went to lackamas lake here, and after the damn and the water falls i want to give that place a try. A buddy of mine spin fishes it and says has some nice brookies in there, what do you guys think that being the first place i try over here? or have any better places?)
    BTW: if anyone has any GOOD deals locally on some gear as in a rod(4 piece, 6WT, reel 6 WT, waders, vest, etc.. PM me i might be interested. Used is ok also, as long as in good condition.

2. Old Man

Old Man Just an Old Man

Media:
    Welcome to the best Fly Fishing site around in the lower 48.

You really didn't say from where you are at. There are two Vancouver's in the area of the upper NW corner of the USA.

If you hadn't said you fished Lacamas Lake, I wouldn't know where you were coming from.

Since you were once living in Montana you will probably be disappointed in the lack of trout fishing.

3. Paul_

Paul_ Active Member

Media:
  4. TheNoob

TheNoob New Member

I just got my license a few days ago, and ill be picking up a rod tomorrow morning. So im excited. Cant wait to get out there, and try to catch something!