NFR: A grateful thanks for all of your support

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by IveofIone, Jul 14, 2014.

1. IveofIone

IveofIone Active Member

It was a month ago today that I came within a couple of inches of Fishing That Big Riffle In The Sky. Today things are looking significantly better. Much of that is due to the outpouring of love, support and encouragement that I received from members of this board, most of which I have never meant. During those first helpless and painful days your good wishes and positive reinforcement were a real beacon of hope in my recovery. I have always felt that if I had a single friend that I could depend on when the chips were down I was a rich man indeed. It turns out I have an embarrassment of riches with friends that were willing to drive hundreds of miles just to mow my fields, split and stack wood and do general maintenance around the homestead. I will be forever indebted to them for help and kindness. And I won't forget those who were packed and ready to come, had taken time off of work and had to stay home because of the rain.

Today I am able to finally type with both hands, feed myself with my right hand as well as shower and dress myself. The first couple of weeks I was basically helpless and had to spend my entire days and nights in my chair hoping that I didn't jostle the break in my arm. With the left leg and right arm useless I was a strange kind of biped and not a very mobile one. Yesterday I was able to take a one mile+ walk on the property with my dog Toscee and did very well. At one point about half way my knee felt like the chain had come off the sprocket but I had my wading staff with me and was able to shake it off and continue.