One vs VXP

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by Jordan Simpson, Sep 16, 2013.

1. Jordan Simpson Active Member

Tsawwassen, BC
    Ratings: +54 / 1
    I'm thinking about getting a spey rod built for me, a 12 to 13 footer in a 7wt. I can get both the Sage ONE and the Sage VXP blanks at a great price and I'm wondering which one I should go for. Take into account I am fairly new to the whole spey game (been learning it on my switch rod- a Redington CPX 1137-4) and am looking for the best 'all-round' option. I know there is no such thing as such a rod, that can do everything, but what I'm mainly wanting to do is Skagit/Scandi, as well as Mid-belly if the rod will allow it.

Cheers.
  2. Danielocean Steelhead Virgin

Monroe
    Ratings: +673 / 0
    Either way you go I would go with the 13 footer. Goodluck.
  3. Jordan Simpson Active Member

Tsawwassen, BC
    Yeah, I was just on the Farbank site and it looks like it's a 13'6'' or something. I was aiming that direction on either blank, I just have no idea which rod I should go for...
  4. teerex Member

Yakima, Klickitat, Deschutes
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    In your neck of the woods, have you considered a tcx blank for your rod? They handle heavy tips for winter work quite well, and can handle most salmon. In the 8 weight variety, switch or spey would be versatile enough, the spey for mid belly lines.
  5. Jordan Simpson Active Member

Tsawwassen, BC
    I did think of that, but unfortunately I am only able to get either a ONE or a VXP blank to build upon.
  6. troutdopemagic Active Member

Lake Stevens, Washington
    Ratings: +137 / 0
    If your looking at a all around Spey Rod for Scandi and Skagit stuff I would get the 12' 6" 7 weight ONE. IMO thats the best length and line size option, especially for a first full length Spey rod. And I know you won't be disappointed with the ONE. I throw the 12' 6" 6 weight and its.....too good.
  7. Tom Palmer Active Member

Seattle, WA
    Ratings: +28 / 0