Orvis Wonderline vs. Scientific Anglers GPX

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Half Buck Flies, Apr 11, 2003.

1. Half Buck Flies

Half Buck Flies New Member

I've been fishing the Orvis Wonderline fly line series for the last three years and was impressed with the ability to lay out line and maintain the product with minimal care. I've been told lately that the Scientific Angler GPX line is a better selection with the same casting charateristics. Anyone had any experience with both lines that can give me some feedback.
    :professor

2. Local

Local Guest

Scientific Anglers manufactures the orvis wonder line, so my guess would be that the taper on the GPX and the WF wonderline are the exact same. Orvis supposedly puts their own "wonder" coating on after production, but i dont know how much of a difference that makes. i would go with which ever is least expensive.

3. Mike Colagrossi

Mike Colagrossi Whammo!

I have heard good things about the Orvis wonderline, I was curious where you lived I went to your link and saw that your site is based in Maine?? How is the fishing out there I have always wanted to fish the east coast..

:beer1

4. circlespey

circlespey Member

I went through two wonderlines in two months before I just asked for my money back. Maybe they have been improved since then (I got mine when it first came out) but the one I had started flaking apart after being fished just a few times, and the replacement did the same thing. I have seen the same thing on other friends' reels several times with wonderlines. The GPX's seem solid to me; I have one and it does pretty well, right up there with the Rios in my opinion. Never again on Orvis lines for me.

5. FrogO2

FrogO2 New Member