Rod Building Tips Wanted

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by ryegen, Apr 15, 2002.

1. ryegen

ryegen Guest

I'm considering building my own fly rod. I've never tried before and would appreciate any helpul hints any would offer.

I have a couple questions to begin the conversation: is it best to start with a cheap blank for my first go; how difficult is the entire process; if you have ever built a rod were you very satisfied with the results or did you wish you would have purchased a rod?

Thanks to all that help me out.

:DUNNO

2. guest

guest Guest

I am in the process of building my first rod. It looks like Angler's workshop in Longview, WA has a great selection of blanks, guides, and all other rod building supplies.

The March/February issue of American Angler has some great tips on building a rod. I was also able to find numerous web sites on the topic. Here are some links:

http://www.flyshop.com/centers/rodbuilding/

http://www.flyanglersonline.com/begin/graphite/index.html

http://www.distantwaters.com/onlstore_aw/aw_sb_rodbuilding.asp?dis=

Everyone I have talked with said building your own rod is a great experience. It sounded like fun, so I thought I would give it a shot.

I haven't bought my supplies yet, but I can let you know how it goes.

3. gbhstrat

gbhstrat New Member