NFR RV Decision

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by freestoneangler, Sep 21, 2013.

1. freestoneangler Not to be confused with Freestone

Edgewood, WA
    Ratings: +706 / 1
    My wife and I have been shopping RV's on and off for a few years now as we plan to travel full-time, part of the year in retirement. We were pretty certain a 5th wheel was the best option for us, but having now been in a few of the neighbors class A coaches, we're starting to re-think our plan. $200K rigs have a way of doing that. We will be traveling with a dog and there is something to be said about being able to move about a little while in route when safe to do so (yes, I know it's never technically safe). My wife's back/hip gives her some grief sometimes on long drives and just being able to stretch out a little will no doubt help. And traveling with a lab (maybe two), I'm certain it would be more comfortable than in the back seat of my Dodge.

I've done the pro/con thing a gazillion times and looked at many of the RV websites and threads covering this same question. But knowing that no community like a fishing community tells it like it is and never exaggerates the truth, I'd like to hear from the forum from those who have (or had) Class A RV's. In particular:
    • Did you go gas or diesel...why and how has that worked out?
    • Which coach did you end up with and how do you like it?
    We would definitely pull a small SUV behind...one of the pluses of the class A as the Southfork can ride on the roof rack. I also plan to buy used and limit the investment to $50K.
  2. Drifter Active Member

Ratings: +635 / 2
    I have a few friends looking into the retirement vehicles and we all agree it has to be able to tow a drifter with motor or small sled and be able to back it to the water! the only requirements! You can always stow a couple toons but touring without a motor boat seems like a handy-cap to me.
    triploidjunkie likes this.
  3. IveofIone Active Member