salmon rod suggestions

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by flyboy, Feb 13, 2002.

1. flyboy

flyboy New Member

I am going on a Salmon fishing trip to Canada with Pops this summer. He is a bait-chucker and never flyfished. I would love to give it try on the flyrod. I have only flyfished trout and am wondering what I would need to flyfish for Salmon. We are gonna be fishing for mostly Chinook, 20-30 pounds maybe some Coho if they are in season and possibly some Pinks.

Any advice would be a great help. I am looking to start saving $$$ for the equipment as soon as possible.

Thanks!

2. Jim Jenkins

Jim Jenkins New Member

I am not an expert by any means but I to have been trying to put together a good salmon/steehead setup on a bugget. I think I've done pretty good so far. I bought a 9' Griggs 4 piece 8/9 rod at OE and a 7/8 Ocuma reel with a big spool at the Sportman Show. The rod came with a real nice carrying case too and was only $60. The reel was 10% off at the show for $45 normally $50. I haven't bought any line yet, working on that with a little help from my friends. I did get an extra spool ($16) but will probably get one more so I can 3 different lines to use. You can spend a lot more but I feel I've done good so far, can't wait to give it a try. I'm also trying to get a good selection of flies as I don't tie my own yet! I hope to give that a try as well.
    Jim J.

3. Greg

Greg Member

Hey Flyboy,

My $0.02 worth (and you know how much that is worth today)
    I think you'd best be served with a 9-ft 9-wt rod. When you shop for one, be sure you choose the one with good backbone...its not enough to be able to cast large flies good distances, you'll also need to put the muscle into those brutes. Don't know what you're budget is, but a there are several excellent choices with unconditional lifetime warranties for about $250. Yeah, I know, you'll probably get a hundred responses touting various rods at lower prices. Shop wisely.

Greg

4. Greg