SF Sno report (AKA: Best day EVER!)

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Mike Munro, Jul 21, 2013.

1. Mike Munro

Mike Munro Member

I'm pretty new to the fly fishing game...been at it just over a year. So far I've been skunked in the salt for the 5 or 6 times I've tried, and my luck in the rivers hasn't been much better; although I did manage to pull in a little cutty from the Taylor last year. Now, in my defense, I don't get a whole lot of time on the water, given that I'm a full-time dad to a 16-month-old, but I have to say that I was starting to doubt my abilities (or at least the trout-holding capacity of our local rivers).

All that changed today.

I had a few hours free, so I decided to hit up my favorite stretch of the SF. Popped into Orvis in Bellevue to grab a pair of neoprene socks so I could wet-wade, and then bee-lined up the 90. I was a little bit disappointed when I arrived at my spot, as there were a bunch of other vehicles parked there, but it proved to be a non-issue. I had the whole stretch to myself.

I slathered myself up with a little sunscreen, and then started my march up the river. I hit up all sorts of 'fishy' looking spots; under branches, bottoms of riffles, deep pools, etc., but I wasn't getting much action. Things started to heat up as I moved up the river. Eventually I found a couple of deeper pools where I was getting strike after strike, but no hook-ups. I finally managed to get a fish on, but alas, the dink managed to shake my fly. I wondered whether I was throwing too large a fly (#14) so I stepped down to a 16 to see if my luck would improve. In fact, it seemed like the strikes were fewer. I eventually got to a point where I thought I needed to turn back, so I swapped out back to a #14 caddis and started my way back downstream.

Well what can I say. Another day on the river turned into the best fishing day of my life.