Smaller Boats

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by FlyfishingWA, Mar 6, 2013.

1. FlyfishingWA

FlyfishingWA New Member

Hi all,

Newbie here just seeking some advice on smaller drift boats/prams in the 10' to 12' range, basically something that would fit in the back of a pickup. Been a long time bankie and am interested in getting something I can row around by myself or with a buddy. I really want something versatile to handle NW rivers but also safe for a new rower to learn on. Does anyone have a recommendation on what I should be looking for? Any input would be much appreciated!

2. Bill Aubrey

Bill Aubrey Active Member

If you are looking to do rivers, I think the conventional wisdom would be to go at least 14' and preferably 16 in a driftboat. I'm sure I'll get corrected if I'm steering you wrong on that. :) I would look into a 2 man toon--check Dave Scadden North Fork Outdoors and Catchercraft. Both have pretty good websites.

3. stratocaster

stratocaster Member

Lavro makes an 11' drift boat that can fit in the bed of a pick up. Recently they had a couple listed on Seattle Craigslist.

4. FlyfishingWA

FlyfishingWA New Member

In your HO, would this do well on class 1-2 rivers such as the Yakima, Wynoochee, ect?

Thanks

5. teedub

teedub Active Member

Hey, you might want to look up Pat Gould on the forum - he makes prams.

6. stratocaster

stratocaster Member

I'm not familiar with the Wynoochee but it I would imagine any class I or II river would be within the boats capability, provided the rower has a good grasp of the basics. Should easily handle the Yakima but again, learn the basics first.

7. troutpounder

troutpounder Active Member

I second the two man toon. If you are dead set on a DB I would highly recommend a 15 or 16 foot boat. You could also look at a skiff like the X series or Clacka Headhunter. A 10-12' DB might be a little under sized, but a 12-14' skiff would be ok.

8. stratocaster

stratocaster Member