south fork snoqualmie "report"

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by golfman44, Jul 24, 2012.

1. golfman44

golfman44 Coho Queen

oh man, what a day.

spent the first hour scouting/casting but then found what looked like the best water yet about 3/4mi down stream from where i parked (mind you im new to this so what i think may be great water could be the worst water out there). was seeing some surface action on the far bank so i slowly waded out and it literally felt like every cast i was getting a bite. i have never before discovered my own fishing hole so please understand why i am so excited.

within an hour or so in the same 30yd stretch of stream (was right below some rapids in what looked like deeper water with some sizable boulders submerged but visible) i got 11 fish to hand, all on dry flies. i honestly felt like i was cheating out there. the first 7 or so were on a #14 black EHC but after failling to set the hook a few times in a row i checked my fly to realize that the end of the hook had actually broken off (i must have pinched it too hard/bent it when removing the barb). i then threw out a #18 grey EHC and it seemed to work just as well. most fish were in the 8-10" range I'd assume (no means of measuring for me) but there were two that were clearly larger (probably around 12", but I could be very wrong on that). by the way, besides EHC and I've heard orange stimulators, what other flies would you suggest i try swinging out there?

2. Joe Goodfellow

Joe Goodfellow Active Member

Heck ya man good job! Find stimulators with a CDC under wing and rubber legs.

3. Jason Rolfe

Jason Rolfe Wanderer

Awesome. I've had some of my best days fishing up there. Good for you.

As for flies--most standard dries will work about now. Adams, EHC, Wulff patterns: you name it and you'll probably catch some fish on it. No cheating involved--you figured it out and had a good day fishing.

4. Jim Speaker

Jim Speaker Active Member