Steelhead flies?

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by fly15, Apr 26, 2002.

1. fly15

fly15 New Member

I would like to start tying my summer run steelhead flies and even next years winter run steelie flies. I am just getting started in the fly fishing for steelhead game and was wondering what rivers to try this summer, in the medium to small size? I have read a lot about how the fly pattern does not matter that much when fly fishing for steelhead but I think it matters more than some think it does if nothing else it is nice just to have confidence in the fly pattern your fishing. If you had only 10 fly patterns for steelies what would you carry in your fly box? I love tying these steelhead flies they sure are easier than a size 20 trout fly.I was thinking of hitting the north fork of the stilly in july or august would that be a good bet for a begginer.THANKS. :DUNNO

2. Rob Blomquist

Rob Blomquist Formerly Tight Loops

As to the rivers, the NF Stilly and the Sky are both Seattle area rivers that have summer runs. But I understand that the NF Stilly is better in memory than fish these days, and one should hit the Sky.

As to the patterns, I would tie McLeod's Ugly, Green Butt Skunk, Skykomish Sunrise, Fancy Spade, and Comet, then I would move into smaller spey and marabou patterns: Deer Creek, Heavy Breather, Guinea Pseudo Speys, and Marabou Speys in black, purple, yellow orange and green.

But I wouldn't forget surface flies for steelies like Bomber, Waller Waker, Steelhead Bee and October Caddis.

That's about all I know.

3. Rxfisher

Rxfisher New Member