Talk to me about fish and chips

Discussion in 'Camping, Hiking, Cooking' started by Nick Clayton, May 21, 2013.

1. Nick Clayton Active Member

Ratings: +1,143 / 4
    This past weekend I was invited out with a friend from work to do some bottom fishing. I've never done this sort of thing so I figured why not. Well after a long fishing day Saturday, and a long cleaning day Sunday, I ended up with around sixty pounds of halibut, ling, and sea bass fillets. The guys I went with are serious fisherman who go to great lengths to have quality final Product. These fillets have not a bone, not a speck of skin and are perfectly trimmed and vacuum sealed. Having never done any bottom fishing I have little experience cooking white meat fish.

Anyhow, I am anxious to give a go at making some fish and chips, and just took a package of ling and a package of hali out for tomorrow. I have never made fish and chips so I would love to read any tips you pros have. Batter recipes, cooking tips... whatever ya got, I'd love to hear it!
  2. Gary Knowels Active Member

Seattle, WA
    Ratings: +403 / 0
    As in all frying, temperature control is the biggest factor in a nice finished food. I never use a thermometer, I just drip some batter in and watch/listen to what happens and get a good feel for where the oil is at.

Classic beer or tempura batters are great, but my favorite is a cornmeal breading found at every grocery store called Louisiana fish fry.

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G
  3. Alex MacDonald Dr. of Doomology

Haus Alpenrosa, Lederhosenland
    Ratings: +886 / 0
    Hehe... I just go to the Rockfish over in Anacortes for their fish&chips!
    Josh likes this.
  4. Jerry Daschofsky Moderator

Graham, WA, USA.
    Ratings: +660 / 5