TFO Deer Creek switch 7wt combo Q:

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by gearhead, Oct 24, 2011.

1. gearhead

gearhead Active Member

Looking at maybe getting a combo package for a switch i found at a local flyshop. its a TFO Deer Creek 7wt Switch, with Ross reel, and Rio Scandi short versa tip. anybody have experience with this, how do you like it, is it heavy or light, is one handing it, a possibility.

i'm looking still harder at a beluah(spell?) platinum 6 or 7wt switch, but the money for the TFO set up is tempting. i'm a novice at best, and yes, i know you get what you pay for. i have a TFO 14 ft spey 9wt with delta two line and never could get it to work for my retardness.

2. bconrad

bconrad Member

I have it, it's a nice little summer rig. Plenty light in the hand, good for single handing stuff in short. If you are going exclusively single handed I'd just get a 10 footer.

Don't know about the line, I seem to be the only person on the planet that doesn't like Scandi lines but mine goes good with a 6/7 Delta. I doubt you'd want to single hand a Scandi for longer
    casts.

3. gearhead

gearhead Active Member

thanks...i am also considering, getting a platinum beulah 7wt 11', i have an okuma large arbor reel already, and then putting the rio scandi short versatip on that. cost would run me about the same as the combo mentioned above. wondering if that beulah is really that much better than the deer creek, its gonna be one or the other, i know that atleast. i gotta get it done by this weekend.

4. Steve Saville

Steve Saville Active Member

I have a TFO 8 wt. switch with Rio AFS head and running line. I put a Ross CLA 4 on it that balances nicely. It casts easily either single handed or two handed overhead and spey casting. The cork isn't the best but TFO has told me if it fails, they will replace the rod. That's a pretty good warranty. I can't speak for Beulah rods.

5. LBC

LBC nymphing beads with a spey pole.

Media: