Trout Fishing Stevens Pass

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by ChuckD85, Aug 18, 2013.

1. ChuckD85 New Member

Ratings: +0 / 0
    Hey all!

I'm relatively new to fly fishing but really enjoying it. I grew up in Washington and now live in North Carolina. I've been going to the Blue Ridge Mountains for trout fishing on the Davidson and some of it's Tributaries. In about a week I'll be headed home and going on a family trip to twin lakes (Easter Washington). On the drive over we'll be headed through Stevens Pass and I was hoping to throw a line in at some point in one of the creeks along the Snohomish. I just have no clue where or with what type of flies, leader length, technique.

Any information would be useful. I'm not looking for monster fish or any specific type of trout. I just want to have a good time fishing with my brother.

Thanks in advance,

Chuck
  2. Kyle Smith Active Member

Bozeman, MT
    Ratings: +291 / 0
    There are lots of cutthroats up there. Check your regulations and bust out google maps. Pick a couple of creeks and give it a shot. The fish will be in the 6-12" range, and they love attractor dry flies like Elk Hair Caddis, Parachute Adams, Royal Wulff etc... Use a 7-9ft 4x leader and a 3-5wt fly rod and you're set. Cascade small stream trout are generally easy like that. P.S. it's the Skykomish up there, the Snohomish is the big river it is a fork of.
    ChuckD85 likes this.
  3. ChuckD85 New Member

Great! Thanks for the info. Are there any specific places that would be ideal for wading?
  4. Old Man Just an Old Man

Dillon, Mt
    Ratings: +1,731 / 0