Trout in Laskes, what set up?

Discussion in 'Stillwater' started by Drew Stang, Apr 6, 2013.

1. Drew Stang

Drew Stang New Member

Im new at fly fishing but have the basic cast down and all, and trout season is about to begin here very shortly in lakes around where I live. I was just wondering if anyone could help me out on what to use for stocked trout in lakes, as far as what flyies to use or what type of line set up to use. Thanks.

2. Patrick Gould

Patrick Gould Active Member

Media:
    Welcome Drew. I've just started fishing stillwater for stocked trout myself. Timing is everything because they'll bite on anything near the surface for the first couple of days after they get dumped into the lake. Here are some flies that I've had luck with: olive mohair leech, green crystal leech, six pack, olive wooley bugger. These are all pretty basic flies. I've been trolling these slowly on a slow sinking line. Be patient and try different times of day. Yesterday I fished a few hours in the morning and got one fish over two hours. I took my daughter out in the evening and she got four fish in an hour.

3. Eyejuggler

Eyejuggler Beech Nut

Media:
    Home Page:
    Welcome Drew, what Patrick said as well as just start thumbing through the Stillwater and other forums, this site has more good info than you can shake a stick at. Also, reference wise, check out this book Stillwater Strategies, written by a chap that posts here alot, it is an excellent resource for PNW stillwater fly fishing.

4. Drew Stang

Drew Stang New Member

Thanks for the info guys. Ill be sure to check out that book and use those flies for starters!

5. Drew Stang

Drew Stang New Member

Is there a good website or book that shows the general hatches specifily for Washington State that you guys use or have used?

6. Jeff Dodd

Jeff Dodd Active Member

Media:
  7. Preston

Preston Active Member